LloydB

Filing with all of us outside the US

31 posts in this topic

Backstory

Ok, We are currently living in Quebec, Canada and we've been married for almost 5 years now.  I have been a legal resident of canada for about 3 years.  Things are fine for us here for now but my father died last year and I would like to move to my family's property to take care of my mother and keep things up.

(1) We've got the i-130s filled out and would just like to verify that we need to send it to the USCIS Chicago Lockbox facility.  The guides here say DCF (which apparently would be way faster) BUT I recall from the last time I checked that the whole DCF process (A) didn't work if you were from Canada and (B) had largely been discontinued.

(2) I also wanted to see if it was likely necessary for my wife to renew her/her son's passport BEFORE we file, because it's set to expire march 2020 and that seems like it might be cutting it close for some of the long wait times I've seen.

(3) Should we send a copy of the legal papers that say she has sole custody of her son and that I am on the deed to the property we intend to move to?  I know these will also be asked for later but they seem like they might be relevant to an early decision making process, especially being an owner of the destination address.

1) Yes. DCF is only available from Canada at this time with exceptional circumstances.

2) March 2020 should be doable, but if you're worried then you can renew beforehand. The passport information needs to be provided on the I-130s if available (keep in mind not everyone even has a passport) but is for USCIS information and background checks only.