Dude5225

Bring SIL over, messed up process

12 posts in this topic

newbie here, thanks for look at this and I would really appreciate any help you folks can give. 

Bro got himself into a jam. 

So, here's the deal.  Brother is s US citizen working oversea and married someone oversea, kid is now 16yo.  Kid (US citizen) decided to attend US high school this past spring so it was decided to have sister-in-law (SIL) come over with the kid.  While SIL can use tourist visa life would be easier if she gets green card so bro filed I-130 back in July.  SIL still wants to go back every few months (cheap tickets since bro in airline) to check on aging parents and she did...

On the trip back to US, ICE give them the 9th degree saying once they filed I-130 they can't use tourist visa to enter.  ICE did eventually  let them in but now trying to figure out the best course of action.   

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

So she is caring for the child while the child attends school in the US?  She needs to be careful, it sounds like she is living in the US.

What does she do for income to care for the child and herself?  What about her medical care while in the US?  I am surprised that this hasn't been an issue before.

Good luck 

USCIS
August 12, 2008 - petition sent
August 16, 2008 - NOA-1
February 10, 2009 - NOA-2
178 DAYS FROM NOA-1

NVC
February 13, 2009 - NVC case number assigned
March 12, 2009 - Case Complete
25 DAY TRIP THROUGH NVC

Medical
May 4, 2009

Interview
May, 26, 2009

POE - June 20, 2009 Toronto - Atlanta, GA

Removal of Conditions
Filed - April 14, 2011
Biometrics - June 2, 2011 (early)
Approval - November 9, 2011
209 DAY TRIP TO REMOVE CONDITIONS

Citizenship

April 29, 2013 - NOA1 for petition received

September 10, 2013 Interview - decision could not be made.

April 15, 2014 APPROVED. Wait for oath ceremony

Waited...

September 29, 2015 - sent letter to senator.

October 16, 2015 - US Citizen