Faith77h

K-1 Visa denied as expected. 212(a)9 (a)(i) what's next?

35 posts in this topic

Hello, 

I need your opinion or sharing of your insights.

I just got denied k-1 Visa as expected. I was given a 2-page letter indicating the section 212 (a)(9)(a)(i). Thr Second page said that  I'm " INA 212 (a)(9)(a)(i) ineligible with a ban or reentry to hr USA until ... No waiver is available. But applicant may apply for entry per 212 (a)(9)(a)(iii). Approved 212-permission to reapply removes this ground, but not tjr circumstances which led up to it." 

I did get deported, and tourist visa cancelled. 5-year band.

I dont understand why the consul said ' no waiver is available'? 

After reading and research, I think 212 needs to applied with 601?

Thanks in advance for insight.

Mom and toddler.

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

I have no experience with the 212 but maybe this will help clarify some of the confusion because the 212 and 601, though both waivers, clearly have different purposes:

"The I-212 waiver only gives you permission to apply for admission with an immigrant visa or nonimmigrant visa, through the Visa Waiver Program, or by adjustment of status if you are physically in the US.

The waiver alone is not enough to gain lawful admission to the U.S.

If your I-212 waiver is granted, your prior visa status is not restored. Instead, you merely have permission to apply for a new visa. For example, if you previously had lawful permanent residence based on marriage to a U.S. citizen, but were removed from the U.S., you must seek a new immigrant visa after the I-212 waiver is granted"

So if this makes sense to anyone else please chime in, what I gather is there is no waiver available for your previous deportation issue or to remove the 5 year bar but you can apply for a 212 waiver and if granted it would allow you to reapply for a new k1 visa.

Good luck - I hope you're successful in this endeavor!

Thanks a lot HoosierEh.