mizzle

continuous residency question

18 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: Australia
Timeline

My husband and our 2 children are all US citizens. We lived in the USA for 16 months. While we were there I received a green card and I lived in the USA for 9 months as a permanent resident. Since December 2014 we have been living in Australia (so for 6 months now as I wanted to have our 2nd child here close to my family). Now, however, I am wondering about my green card and continuous residency. Can I lose my green card if we stay away too long? Do I need to come back every year? We have maintained ties back in the USA (family, bank accounts etc). I am confused about if I am a continuous resident if I am in Australia but go back yearly and then in the future move back to the USA for 18 months would I be able to apply for naturalisation after 18 continuous months there? Would the time away from the USA but while maintaining ties there count towards the 3 years required for the spouse of a US citizen? Thanks!

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Argentina
Timeline

hi

you should have gotten a reentry permit, the continuous residence breaks after 6 months and after a year out of the US you lose your GC, the purpose of a GC is to live in the US. you shouldn't have applied for a GC if you weren't ready to move to the US for good

the GC is not a tourist visa to come once a year, sooner or later they would take away your GC

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Philippines
Timeline