JoyNaomi

Abusive relationship

23 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: Congo
Timeline

Hi, I have a few questions about a situation I'm involved in. I'm American, 21 years old, and I've been married almost 2 years to a foreigner. Recently, I moved across the country to get away from him because it became an enormously abusive relationship. I went to the police and gave them hypothetical situations and they basically told me if I've got no proof I'm screwed. And they kind of dismissed me. So I decided not to report it on several occasions.

Right now, I really want to have a divorce from him because I want to have nothing to do with him anymore. Also, because he worked and I went to school, I am struggling financially to take care of myself. If we divorce, I know I can qualify for food stamps as well as additional benefits because I'm a student who doesn't make much money.

Anyway, the point is that I've asked for a divorce several times and he does nothing but send threatening texts to me, without promise of granting me a divorce. I can't file myself because I have to be a resident of the state I file in for 6 months, but I only just relocated. And if that wasnt enough, our bank won't even let me take my name off our account unless he agrees and is in a branch at the same time as me signing off on it.

I don't know how or what to do or what steps I should take to get this situation solved. I am beyond overwhelmed and I feel like I've gone through 50 years of abuse even though I'm only 21.

Does anyone have any advice? Like anything at all?

Thanks.

Start a new bank account.

Inform the old bank manager that you're being domestically abused and want to remove your name from the account and if they won't do it, then you'll no longer bank with them.

Wait until you can file for divorce, then do so.

Pick your chin up, and move on with life. You can do it! :)