Melisandre

K 1 Visa - Ottawa, Ontario

53 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

Hey guys!

Newbie here with lots of questions! smile.png

I'm a Canadian citizen residing in Ottawa, Ontario and will be for K1 visa soon. We got the giant spaceship looking US embassy here in Ottawa but I can't find any approved doctor for medical examination. Do I HAVE TO go to Toronto or Montreal for the medial exam even though the spaceship embassy is right here? What about the interview, can I at least have the interview here in Ottawa?

We plan to get married around the end of November 2014. Keeping all the process and everything in mind, when should my fiance file the petition in the United States. Does it take too long? I found out that I shouldn't go for my medical exam until asked by the embassy, but can I get my police record done prior? Their website says it takes about 6-8 weeks to get it.

Oh and I don't have any vaccination record handy as much as I know but I did get Polio and Tetanus and all that when I was a child, said my mother unsure.png

Thank you so much to everyone in advance, I truly appreciate any advice/suggestion you might have for me! I'm sure I'll have more questions as I start to prepare for this whole...madness wacko.png

I think you have to go to Montreal or Vancouver for your interview. There might be a doctor in Ottawa to do the medical, but I don't know. The embassy in Ottawa doesn't do k1 visa interviews.

Right now the k1 visa process doesn't take too long, or so it appears. I'd do a little looking around on VJ to get averages, and then apply a couple months before that timeline. You have 6 months to use your visa, so better safe than sorry.

And I'd wait to do either police record or medical. You'll need them again to do your AOS and they're only valid for a limited time. Do them as close to the interview as you can. I think you can get a police record check much quicker than that, if you go in in person.