nievielea

US minor children & ex husband - Australian mother needs visa

10 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: Australia
Timeline

Hello, this is my first visit to this site, so in advance I'd like to thank all those who choose to share their experiences or comment on their dealings with the US Immigration process.

I'm an Australian citizen (49 years) residing in Australia. My US citizen children aged 17 years and 11 years also live in Australia, as does my US born ex-husband. He is planning to relocate back to the US after an extended period of absence (16 years) to spend time with his siblings and ageing parents. My children are also wanting to relocate to the US for the same reasons. My ex-husband is planning to move this year (2013), and we are hoping that we can all move together as we don't want the children to have an extended time away from him.

My question is - which visa should I apply for - it seems the I-130 is a very time consuming option. I'm a Registered Nurse so shouldn't have any problems finding employment, however most working visas are of a short duration, ie 2 years. I will require a permanent residency visa as my daughter will need me to raise her for at least the next 7 years.

Thanks again

There is no visa option for you, if you are indeed the ex-wife. Your children and husband are USC, so they will not have any problem, unless your ex USC husband is willing to re-marry you, there is nothing avavilable for you unless you apply for some type of work visa seperately from their process.

Your USC children will be able to petition for you when they are 21 years of age.

Edited by LIFE'SJOURNEY

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Ireland
Timeline

You can't get a family visa- the earliest that could happen would be in 4 years time, when your older child turns 21 and can petition for you as her parent, and then it'll take about a year for you to get the visa/ greencard.