Caladan

Help me make a case to my parents...

18 posts in this topic

A bit of history:

I'm a graduate student. I miss the 125% cutoff by about $500 annually according to my tax returns. Yes, the K-1 only requires 100%. Yes, I have more five times the balance of the deficit held in liquid assets.

Still. Not keen on the idea of sending him to an interview that should be a breeze at 117% of the poverty level guidelines to get rejected.

So, I feel I need a co-sponsor. Here endeth the history lesson, and here beginneth the plea.

-------

My parents are of the lovely old-school midwestern breed that won't co-sign for cars, apartments, college loans, let alone a fiancé. :devil: The worry is generally that they don't know what could possibly happen, and they wouldn't want to be legally liable, because then the government would come and take their house, car, livelihood, and I wouldn't want to do that to dear old mom and dad would I?

(As a side note, I have never had financial trouble. This is pretty much an irrational worry on their part.)

I think it's a silly worry, but fair enough, their worries are their worries. I'd like to convince them that this is a stupid worry, as the K-1 is not legally binding (and my tax returns for fiscal 2006 will be above the cutoff due to a summer teaching gig, so we'll be fine at the AoS.)

Problem is, I'm not sure how I know that the K-1 is not legally binding. I understand the rationale that it's not legally binding., but I'm looking for a cite and coming up dry on finding the specific reg.

So, I'm looking for a cite that says a) the K-1 is not legally binding (it's okay if it's in legalese, I can read that.) and B) preferably has a shiny seal and looks official.

Can anyone help?

AOS

-

Filed: 8/1/07

NOA1:9/7/07

Biometrics: 9/28/07

EAD/AP: 10/17/07

EAD card ordered again (who knows, maybe we got the two-fer deal): 10/23/-7

Transferred to CSC: 10/26/07

Approved: 11/21/07

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Mexico
Timeline