June 29

Hello! I have a few questions and desperately need help. Plz take a min to read and maybe u can help...

33 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: Turkmenistan
Timeline

I want to apologize if I am doing this wrong. I tried to start a forum but I couldn't. So, I am posting my message here.

I am married to the US citizen. We are currently almost done preparing the I-130 and I-485 with all the required documents and I have just a few questions. If anyone could plz answer I will really appreciate it.

1. I have worked illegally in the past using a social security card that was given to me previously on J-1 work and travel program. I know I have to put that on my application. My question: Is there a waiver for my stupidity of working illegally? If yes, where can I find it? Is there a fee?

2. I used to be a J-1 student when I did an exchange program. It had the 2 year rule (the one that says that u have to go back home for 2 years.) Well, I went back home for a year and them went to college in Bulgaria. My residence was still back home. Does that mean I can count the years in Bulgaria towards the years of "being back home"?

3. My passport expires at the end of this year. Does it in any way matter to USCIS? There is no way I can go home and get a new one...

4. When all the forms and documents are ready, what is the best way of putting them all together? I read about people putting a cover letter and putting the pictures in plastic bags, etc. I just need some guidance 'cause seeing that stack of papers makes me lose my mind. And I am bad at organizing papers

Thank you all very much in advance! Please don't hesitate to answer even if you only know an answer to one of the above questions.

Sincerely,

June 29

Edited by Kathryn41
to remove personal information

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Ireland
Timeline