Rich and Lenochka

Any options for petitioner unable to attend embassy interview

13 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Ukraine
Timeline

The love of my life is going to be attending her K-1 interview in Kiev on May 22. Great! But I will be unable to attend; I work in a hospital and we are moving all hospital operations into a new building on the very same day.

I tried to no avail to get the time off so I could attend the interview. I know that my Lenochka would appreciate my presence as a show of support and it might even help our chances of sailing through the interview and getting the visa.

Lenochka has come across all kinds of advice online regarding the interview process, including one gem where it is recommended for the absentee petitioner to phone the embassy prior to the interview date and explain to the consulate the situation as to why the petitioner will be unable to attend. It was also mentioned that it might be helpful for the absentee petitioner to email the consulate and make him/her self available by phone at the time of the interview.

These ideas were news to me. I know I am not the first who was unable to attend the interview, but I have provided a ton of evidence of our relationship which will be presented at the interview.

Anybody out there heard of anything I might consider doing as a show of support to the consulate on my beneficiaries behalf?

Thanks for you help!

Rich

RIch, Lenochka, and Roma

Filed: Country: Poland
Timeline

Calling or emailing the consulate won't do much, I doubt they will add the record of it to the case file.

You can write a letter explaning that you wanted to attend but was unable to and giving your contact number "in case there are any questions" to the petitioner.

Notarize it and send it to your fiancee who will take it to the interview.

She can hand it to the interviewer with "my fiance intended to attend but was unable because of his work schedule" and a big smile.