Seven

change back to my maiden name

40 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Spain
Timeline

Hello everybody!

I am a conditional permanent resident and it has been like that for almost a year now. When I filed for AOS, I felt forced by my husband to change my last names to his last name... That is something you just DONT DO in my culture and country and so I have to hide for my family for them not to get really upset with me. Anyway I don't want to have his last name, not because I don't love him or whatever but is just the way I was raised and can't understand how misoginist is to change it...sorry. Anyway, my GC, SSN, DL in USA is in the married name (and again I never went to court to legally change it...I just filed the AOS with the new name and that´s all).

The thing is I want my last names back. My husband says that is not a good idea because it will be a red flag for immigration that I do so and that it will be just problems with immigration because they will not understand how I don't want to have my hubbys if we are married, that if I travel or I am stopped by a cop when I am driving they will see spanish last names and will give me a hard time and then if they keep tracking, they will see I am married to a US citizen born in Vietnam and then will be more red flags etc...All completely insane. As well he says that it will make me be more under the radar bla bla.

My question is it is a big deal for immigration the last name thing? Also, would happen something if when I renew the GC to a 10 years I go back to my maiden?

Thank you!

Edited by Seven

we all have lessons to learn in life next time you should discuss this I head of time these are some of the pitfalls that occur when we marry cross culture. but if you love him and he loves you everything will work out are you need to communicate about these things and not stay silent imho.