HotPinay-KoolKano

Is my Bachelor Degree from the Philippines recognized in the US?

13 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Philippines
Timeline

I have a Bachelor Degree from Mindanao State University. Will it be recognized by prospective employers here in the US, or what steps would be necessary to have the degree recognized here?

Thank you in advance for any advice you may offer.

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: England
Timeline

http://www.wes.org/

They 'translate' what you've got. The majority of your credits/grades will more than likely transfer no problem but there may well be one or two that don't or you maybe required to do a few extra subject/modules/credits (whatever they're called here) to complete it to the American equivalent.

Fingers crossed everything transfers for you!!

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Philippines
Timeline

I have a Bachelor Degree from Mindanao State University. Will it be recognized by prospective employers here in the US, or what steps would be necessary to have the degree recognized here?

I don't see any reason why it won't be. I moved here when I was in high school and I got credit for everything. I think the only issue you may run into with your foreign degree is if you decide to go to graduate school but then again there are program specific exams you can pass and it won't matter at that point. If you're in the health care industry like half the educated population is in the country then there are state licensing exams you can take and as long as you pass those like the NCLEX for nurses then I don't think it matters where you got your degree.

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Pakistan
Timeline