Amerikeli_bob

married, living in Tbilisi, must do DCF? or OK to mail to US?

17 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Georgia
Timeline

Hello! This is my first time posting here. This is a very helpful forum, and I've already found answers to many of my n00b questions. I do have a question which I haven't found the answer to yet.

Background:

I'm a US citizen and have been living in Tbilisi, Georgia for about 11 months. My wife is Georgian, and we got married in Tbilisi 9 months ago. I'm planning to file an I-130 to get a CR-1 visa for her.

AFAIK, I can use DCF. This should allow my paperwork to be processed faster. However, I've read and heard that the Georgian Consulate is a difficult one: they reject visas without real cause and they are slow to process paperwork. Disorganization is pretty widespread here, and I am hoping to have the paperwork processed in the US in order to avoid as many headaches as possible.

Question:

Since I have been in Georgia for almost a year, is DCF my only option for filing? Or can I mail the papers to a USCIS office in the US?

I believe I can prove that I have a residence with family in the US (still checking on this). Should I just consider my stay in Georgia to be a long vacation? I plan on staying in Georgia until my wife and I can both fly to the US.

If anyone has used DCF in Georgia, and it went well, I'd really like to hear about this, too.

Many thanks for any help! And sorry if this question has already been answered elsewhere

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Ireland
Timeline

You can do a US filing as long as you have a mailing address there/ someone who can forward paperwork such as the NOAs for you.

Bye: Penguin

Me: Irish/ Swiss citizen, and now naturalised US citizen. Husband: USC; twin babies born Feb 08 in Ireland and a daughter in Feb 2010 in Arkansas who are all joint Irish/ USC. Did DCF (IR1) in 6 weeks via the Dublin, Ireland embassy and now living in Arkansas.

mod penguin.jpg