Pinto Pony

Tipping Etiquette

74 posts in this topic

So now I am living here in the USA permanently I am coming across a few things I have never done before like going to a hair salon for the dreaded restyle that is long overdue. I am a little worried about how I tip someone like a hairdresser. If I pay credit do I just add it to my total or do I need to pay cash and hand it over to the hairdresser? How much do I tip, a percentage or a flat amount for each thing I have done while I am there?

Also do I tip for dry cleaning? I need to pick some up for the first time tomorrow, do I just pay the bill without a tip or leave a tip for their service?

I have tipped in restaurants before is it just the same? Help me! Also any other "tipping etiquette" I should know? I googled for tips but find conflicting info and my husband is not being very helpful when it comes to a hairdresser :wacko:

Edited by Pinto Pony

• Replies 73
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Ethiopia
Timeline

Do not tip for dry cleaning.

You should ALWAYS tip at restaurants. Often the wait staff have low hourly salaries and often have to share tips with the bussing staff, so the tips are really important.

And its customary to tip for personal services (hair dresser, manicurist, wax, etc.) if you feel that the person did a good job and you are pleased. You can usually pay with credit card and just add the tip when you sign the receipt (like at restaurants), but some places don't give you the option to tip on the receipt. For your first visit, I would bring cash, see how they handle it and if you like their service you know what to do next time. For personal services I don't believe tipping is based on percents. I could be wrong, but I always think of percents (in terms of minimum amount of tips at restaurants) but never for personal services.