Dennis Miller

What are the legalities of desertion after green card is recieved

139 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: China
Timeline

After three years of surviving the visa process and getting her here and after finally getting her green card after eight months of trying she has now deserted me. I would like to know if this is legal for her to do or if immigration would rescind her visa, green card? I will probably not turn her in if it is illegal but I need to know if this is something legal for her to do after getting the green card? I still love her very much and she says she loves me but must go elsewhere to work. I don't know if anyone here would know this or not but maybe you could refer me to a website or something? Thank You! I am new at using this site so I don't know how to find out if anyone knows? Help??

• Replies 138
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

If she has her green card, she can do what she wants at this point. You are still bound to the affidavit of support however.

If you feel that she used you to fradulantly obtain immigration benifits, then report everything you know to the USCIS.

keTiiDCjGVo

Filed: Country: Vietnam (no flag)
Timeline

Wow, this post is not real active. I'm sorry to hear about this. Without knowing any real details it is hard to comment. It sounds like she may have got what she wanted, here's to hoping she gets what she deserves (be it good or bad). I don't think there is anything you can really do. Hang in there.

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Iran
Timeline

"after 8 month of trying she has now deserted me..."

Do you mean both you and your fiance/wife tried to marriage work? Or do you mean your wife/fiance tried to find work for 8 months?

It sounds to me by what you said that your wife did not marry you just to abandon you later and that she loves you. But for FINANCIAL REASONS she is forced to find work and MUST GO WHERE THE WORK IS.