MazUK

Seeking Guidance on US Immigration Options: H-1B Visa and More for British IT Professional

18 posts in this topic

Hello everyone! I'm reaching out to seek advice on US immigration options. As a British national residing in the UK and working as an IT professional, I'm considering relocating to the US with my family. With both of my siblings being US citizens, I wanted to inquire about potential avenues such as work sponsorship (particularly through the H-1B visa), or any other available options. I'm aware that family sponsorship may have a longer processing time, so I'm particularly interested in exploring options like the H-1B visa or alternative routes. I would greatly appreciate any guidance or insights you can provide. Additionally, if you have information regarding the typical duration of these immigration processes, it would be incredibly helpful. Thank you all in advance for your valuable input!

Edited by MazUK
Unrelated content removed

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Myanmar
Timeline

Depending on the type of employment based immigration visa there is at least a 1-3 year wait list, probably a 2-6 year wait.

H1-B is a lottery. Most are not picked.

Most deterministic path is an L-1 visa, where you work for an employer in the UK with operations in the U.S that will sponsor an immigration visa.  L-1 lets you transfer to U.S. You can then apply for an employment based immigration visa.

L-1A is for managers and has a short wait time for an immigration visa. Under 2 years. 

L-1B is for non managers and has the 2-6 year  wait time.

Both L-1A and L-1B can be replaced with H1-B, but you have to win a lottery.

It is best to set low expectations on the possibility of getting a green card in the U.S. through employment.

Edited by Mike E

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Indonesia
Timeline
41 minutes ago, MazUK said: