Aria_Hasan

Questions on Filing for Spouse

6 posts in this topic

Timeline

Hello, everyone! My name is Aria.

I am 22 years old. I am a U.S. citizen. I got married to my husband in July 2022 in Bangladesh. He is a Bangladeshi citizen. I have the intention of applying for him to come here so we can be together.

My parents are not aware of this marriage, as I have gotten married to him secretly. His family, however, does know and supported our decision completely. I am just not sure how to bring him here as everything seems so confusing. I know I am to file a I-130 form but I had a few questions. I am a student and my income is very low, as I am a part-time student but I do have a friend who meets the requirements to sponsor him. What kind of proof would they require to establish that this marriage is legit? We have a marriage certificate and marriage pictures. He is a student as well and does not have his own bank-account and after researching, I read that they may look at shared bank accounts? We do not have that. What other proofs might they consider as "legit"?

Please give me any help or advice! Thanks a lot!

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

They understand that newly weds will not have that sort of evidence when they live on different continents.

Your best evidence is the visits made and time spent together, hopefully you have kept receipts, photos etc.

In the meantime study the guides so you are familiar with the process.

“If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles. If you know yourself but not the enemy, for every victory gained you will also suffer a defeat. If you know neither the enemy nor yourself, you will succumb in every battle.”

2 hours ago, Aria_Hasan said:

Hello, everyone! My name is Aria.