lavenderyu

i864 minimal requirement? Need a Joint Sponsor?

6 posts in this topic

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Hong Kong
Timeline

Hi all, this is first time posting my concerns in the forum. I have been using VisaJourney to look for my answers for many years and I have always found what I need. But this time I really need you guys to help a little. Any suggestion is greatly appreciated. thank you so much!

I am a petitioner (US citizen) who is trying to fill out the i864 (the affidavit of support) for immigrating my spouse to the US. We do not have any children and here is my financial picture:

1. I am a graduating Ph.D. student studying abroad (not in the US) and my stipend is about $40,000 (US dollar) per year. For the past three years of studying, I have been filing US taxes via foreign income exclusion. So the total income in the tax return is $0. Since the stipend would stop once I graduate and move back to the US, my current income would be $0 as well. I don't have any job offer at this point.
  2. I own a free and clear property (my principal address) in the US with a net worth of about ~$400,000 with my parents living in it. 
  3. I also have a saving account of around $70,000.
  4. My father who has lived in our home is making $30,000 per year. My mother and father are filed married jointly and do not have any other dependents. 

I am going to use my assets of the property and the savings and also combine my father as a household member to meet the minimal requirement. Does this sound like a very naive affidavit of support for the USCIS? I am trying to do this all on our own without finding a joint sponsor. Please advice. Any suggestion is appreciated. thank you so much!!!

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Ukraine
Timeline