DesiJase

Tax Returns for 2022

5 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

Hi Friends, okay so as I am brand new to being married, how does it work when you're filing your taxes the first year? We've been married since October so will we file Married filing Jointly or will I file as head of household ? Do we include his income that he made in the UK before coming here ? A little lost and afraid a tax preparer might not know. 

23 minutes ago, DesiJase said:

okay so as I am brand new to being married, how does it work when you're filing your taxes the first year?

For 2021 tax year he doesn't meet the substantial presence test: https://www.irs.gov/individuals/international-taxpayers/substantial-presence-test (But if his I-485 is approved on or before Dec. 31 then he'll meet the Green Card test and thus be a US resident for the tax year)

If you want you can elect "to treat the nonresident spouse as a U.S. resident" when filing a joint return https://www.irs.gov/individuals/international-taxpayers/nonresident-spouse

Edited by HRQX

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Ukraine
Timeline
3 hours ago, DesiJase said:

Hi Friends, okay so as I am brand new to being married, how does it work when you're filing your taxes the first year? We've been married since October so will we file Married filing Jointly or will I file as head of household ? Do we include his income that he made in the UK before coming here ? A little lost and afraid a tax preparer might not know. 

Not head of household.

It will be MFS or MFJ.  Consult a tax accountant experienced in international income.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: England
Timeline
13 hours ago, DesiJase said: