INF

Canadians here ... can we file as non residents?

8 posts in this topic

Hi guys,

I am Canadian and am looking to file my taxes this year. I noticed that married filing jointly will be very expensive for me and my husband. We owe a lot of money that way. Our accountant advised us saying that we can file married but separately and that I (the beneficiary) don’t need to file a tax return since I’m a resident of Canada and can use the treaty to claim non residency in the united states.

The issue is I have been here since March and to me ... I’d be easily a resident of Canada. Has anyone been able to solve this before? 

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Morocco
Timeline

you just got your EAD card in March 2021 so you have no US income ,  I hope till after you got the card

so,  no 2020 US taxes to file 

Married in 2020 spouse can file as MFJ or MFS 

if married filing joint the tax exemption for 2020 is $107,600 for year 2020 and you need to file form 2555

Edited by JeanneAdil

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: Brazil
Timeline
21 hours ago, INF said:

Hi guys,

I am Canadian and am looking to file my taxes this year. I noticed that married filing jointly will be very expensive for me and my husband. We owe a lot of money that way. Our accountant advised us saying that we can file married but separately and that I (the beneficiary) don’t need to file a tax return since I’m a resident of Canada and can use the treaty to claim non residency in the united states.

The issue is I have been here since March and to me ... I’d be easily a resident of Canada. Has anyone been able to solve this before? 

When did you move to the US? You said on the post March, your timeline says you applied for AOS last year.

On 5/7/2021 at 5:53 PM, Ayrton said:

When did you move to the US? You said on the post March, your timeline says you applied for AOS last year.

Sorry March 2020! 

Timeline
6 minutes ago, INF said:

Sorry March 2020!