Brittany111

Canadian with B2 status denied entry to USA

7 posts in this topic

Hello, I am Canadian and married to a US citizen. We married in Canada in 2016 but we have not done any of our visa work yet. Because of covid, I ended up spending 10 months in the USA last year (I never overstayed my visa, I went back to Canada before my 6 months was up, but then just returned to usa after a month). I already know this is a violation of the B2 status. With covid it just made it easy since all my schooling went online.

Anywho, I came back to Canda before my 6 months was up and stayed in Canada for another month. Then, I tried to fly back to the USA and got denied entry under Section 212 (a) (7) (A) (i) (I) of the INA. I was allowed to withdraw my application.

My question is, what will happen next time I try to enter the USA? And how long should I wait before I try again? Our plan is for my husband to get PR in Canada but we just don't have it set up yet because I am a student, can't provide for him and he has a good job in the USA. I just want to go to visit him but because of covid, i'd like to stay for at least 3 months. Please, please, please, I am not looking for any judgement. I've already been told how stupid I am on multiple different platforms. It is not helpful and I genuinely want advice. 

I want advice from anyone who has been denied under this section and what happened the next time they tried to enter the USA?
Can I be denied again under the same section or am I risking getting banned from going to the USA?

Any info is greatly appreciated! Thank you!

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

Yes, you can be denied entry again.  I was denied entry twice back to back.  The next time I attempted to enter I had solid ties to Canada.  It sounds like you may be lacking ties to Canada.  I suggest waiting at least 6 months before trying again.  Use that time to form ties to Canada.

We, as Canadians, often take for granted our easy travel to the US.