jeanieCZ

Car insurance in VA

10 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Netherlands
Timeline

Hi guys, 

I have a couple of questions regarding the car insurance. 

My fiancee (US Citizen) owns a car and of course, car insurance. It seems that since I will move in with her, she'll need to add me to her insurance, because the insurance company assumes (!) that any adult living on the same house address has access to her car and therefore drives it. Does anybody have experience with this? 

I heard a newly-insured driver pays hundreds of USD monthly on car insurance....I obviously want to avoind paying such ridiculous amounts of money, especially while I wait for my Green Card and cannot work! I have owned a European driving license since 2009 and dare to say I am an experienced driver, never been involved in a car accident. Is my driving history something a US car insurance company would consider, or they just don't care?

"Life is a journey." At this moment, it's taking me to the USA to the woman I love.

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Vietnam
Timeline

1. Insurance often depends on the insurance company and jurisdiction (state), but generally spouses (not fiances) are covered, as long as they have a valid license. You probably will not be added under fiance's policy. If the fiance has comprehensive insurance, you will be covered as long as you have permission to use the vehicle and have a valid drivers license. If your fiance has liability only, you are probably not covered. Again, it depends on jurisdiction and the insurance companies.

2. Insurance is relatively inexpensive and not hundreds of dollars per month. For instance, I pay about $750 per year for total coverage on a $30,000 car being financed since buying new in 2017. In some states, I'd pay more and some I might pay less. I have a clean record and no accidents in which I was at fault.

2. In general, liability insurance follows the driver and comprehensive/collision follows the car.