jeanieCZ

Any nurses around here?

16 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Netherlands
Timeline

Hi guys, 

I currently live in the Netherlands and am in the K-1 visa process with my  US fiancee. I am a hospital-based nurse with 13 years of experience. 

I am aware of the fact that I will not be able to work in the US until I will have obtained my green card and that I will need to get a nursing license. I will most probably seek work in DC/VA/MD area, so I started so do some googling on how the registration/licensing works. I would be grateful to anybody who has some experience with this and would be willing to give me a word of advice or answer a couple of questions. 

The authority I guess I will have to deal with is the CGFNS. Pardon me if I'm asking stupid questions, but I try to be prepared as much as I possibly can. 

My questions are:

1. When can I start my registration with CGFNS? Would it be okay to do this before I move to the USA? I am not sure which documents they will require me to submit and it would be much easier to get legislated copies of diplomas with apostille etc while I am still in Europe (I guess). 

2. I already have a few copies and translations of my diplomas, but those are almost 10 years old. Would those documents be sufficient or do I need to obtain new "fresh" copies?

"Life is a journey." At this moment, it's taking me to the USA to the woman I love.

17 hours ago, jeaniecz said:

Hi guys, 

I currently live in the Netherlands and am in the K-1 visa process with my  US fiancee. I am a hospital-based nurse with 13 years of experience.