Sauronx92

Cap exempt H-1B petition

13 posts in this topic

Hello everyone,

Please bear with me, as this is my first post here and I may not be accustomed to all the formatting rules.

I am currently on F-1 STEM OPT with expiration in July 2020, working for a cap exempt employer in a full-time research position. I have talked to my direct supervisor about the possibility of a change of status from F-1 to H-1B. Needless to say, he is not experienced in dealing with USCIS and wants my guidance. The school also offers official liaison services, but it is in my best interest to guide him along. If it helps to put everything in context, I have a Master's Degree in Physics from a US institution and have maintained lawful F-1 status since 2011.

I have a couple of questions, primarily regarding the LCA. It is my understanding that the petition must prove the alien is both qualified to work in a specialty position, as well as compensated fairly for the work.

1) How does one select the correct "category" for the prevailing wage rate? I am paid $60k in California for a job title "R&D Engineer 2". The job listing itself only requires a Bachelor's degree in engineering disciplines or related fields. This compensation is in line with what similarly situated workers in my industry make. Where is the "proof"?

2) My current contract runs out at the end of 2019. Would it be smart to renegociate this contract before engaging in correspondence with USCIS? My gut tells me "yes." The employer benefits from my services for a longer guaranteed time, and I extend my stay in the US while pursuing a career. I should mention that I am located in an at-will state, however.

Thank you for reading (and responding, as the case may be).

Filed: Other Timeline

You should NOT be involved.  He was irresponsible if he directed you to do anything. You should be terminated if you took it upon yourself to become involved.