Bug&Bug

understanding the certifications and licensing system in the US for engineers?

7 posts in this topic

Right, so several years have passed and we still havent taken the plunge to start appliying for a CR1 visa....yes, we procastinate and in the meanwhile there has been different job fields and different countries.

So 2019 is going to be the year we get married and sent the paperwork.

Meanwhile I (future inmigrant) want to start aligning my career to what will give me more oportunities. I am currently an engineer in the trasportation field and so I have been looking at what the current oportunities look like see what I should try to gain some experience.

What I dont understand is the certification and licensing system in the USA. I see things like professional engineer, engineer in training, licencing for the Department for Transport.. what are some good websites or sources of information I can have a look at to see what I need? 

Also should I be getting my university degrees certified in the USA? I have been working for 5+ years in different fields so I dont know how important it is to go through the whole degree certification process (plus my university is in another country, adding a whole new level of complication).  I am also profeccionaly certified in the UK (Chartered) and wonder if its somehow partially transferable.

Any insight would be apreciated.

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Vietnam
Timeline

-The basic entry required Bachelor degree in Engineer(  software, civil, system...etc).

-Some Engineer like software, computer the only requirement is Bachelor degree, but with Civil after you have Bachelor Degree, you also need to have a Cert for practice.

-On another side, any kind of engineer jobs will required US Citizenship.

-You can have your degree evaluation in USA.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Taiwan
Timeline

Personally, I would start my research at the state level (where you intend to reside) licensing authorities......