fromphtousa.com

What was your job in the Philippines before moving to the US?

20 posts in this topic

Hey there.

I was doing digital marketing in the Philippines before I moved to the US last August 2017. Most of my relatives thought that I would not find a job aligned to my field because the competition is tough here. I'll find out if that's true once my AOS gets approved.

I'm just curious. What was your career back in the Philippines? If you already have an EAD or a Green Card, are you still practicing the same profession or did you change your career path?

---

Note to Admin: I'm not sure if this should be posted here or in the Job hunting forum since this question is just for Filipinos like myself. Please move this if it's inappropriate.

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Philippines
Timeline

I was a licensed teacher (license expired). I taught grade school and high school for 5 years before switching careers. I worked for an American payroll company as a tech analyst/report writer in my last 4 years before moving here in Texas.  I just filed for my AOS/EAD/AP last Monday. I have checked my previous employer's job portal but most job openings they have are cities away from where I live. Teachers get sh#t pay here from what I've heard and been told so  even though I'm a trained teacher, it's at the bottom of my list.

Edited by notantifun

1 hour ago, notantifun said:

I was a licensed teacher (license expired). I taught grade school and high school for 5 years before switching careers. I worked for an American payroll company as a tech analyst/report writer in my last 4 years before moving here in Texas.  I just filed for my AOS/EAD/AP last Monday. I have checked my previous employer's job portal but most job openings they have are cities away from where I live. Teachers get sh#t pay here from what I've heard and been told so  even though I'm a trained teacher, it's at the bottom of my list.