Sign in to follow this  
R16M05-77

I-129F is getting close to expiring

7 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Japan
Timeline

Hey I have a question. My fiance's I-129F expired on Nov 20, 2016. She still needs to get the medical exam and has not yet scheduled the interview. Here is the back story. I am a contractor for the US Air Force and was supposed to have a full time position at Kadena. While we were waiting for that all to go thru we held off getting the medical exam and the other parts of the final process to get the interview. Fast forward to now and it looks like my permanent position just became temporary and I will be there only till the end of the year. Is there anything we can do? Or will we be forced to do the process all over again?

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: Brazil
Timeline

Hey I have a question. My fiance's I-129F expired on Nov 20, 2016. She still needs to get the medical exam and has not yet scheduled the interview. Here is the back story. I am a contractor for the US Air Force and was supposed to have a full time position at Kadena. While we were waiting for that all to go thru we held off getting the medical exam and the other parts of the final process to get the interview. Fast forward to now and it looks like my permanent position just became temporary and I will be there only till the end of the year. Is there anything we can do? Or will we be forced to do the process all over again?

Assuming that your fiance would be able to complete her medical and the interview before the expiration of your petition and is then approved for the visa, her K-1 would be valid for 6 months from the date of her medical exam. Then, of course, upon entry to the US, you'll have 90 days to marry.

Without delving into your continued employment and other details, focusing strictly on your remaining timeline, it sounds like you could make it work assuming she is interviewed before the petition expiration.

Good luck!

Edited by rocklobstermass

K1