artseth

Do I Really Need a Lawyer or Professional Help?

25 posts in this topic

Hello Friends,

I'm new at this and I've been reading this website for hours/days trying to learn as much as I can. Forgive me if this is addressed elsewhere, but haven't been able to find it.

Should I hire an agency or lawyer to help my with the K1 process? I live in the U.S. and my fiancé lives in Vietnam.

I've read in some threads that bribes are expected. I can't seem to figure out what step of the process this would come into play.

Also, any recommendations about specific agencies/lawyers if I should go that route? Hire someone in Vietnam or in the US? Any ballpark figure that would outline what I should expect to pay?

I feel like I can do all of this myself (thanks to the info posted here) but I'm willing to pay someone if it expedites things.

Thanks in advance!

I used the services of a lawyer for my wife's K1 visa who was really great and my post is not going to knock him at all. But honestly looking back on it, I wish I could have done it myself and saved the money that was spent on a lawyer. While in my circumstance it was easier using a lawyer because I was working overseas, if you are in the USA then NO don't get a lawyer. All you have to do is simply use the guides on here and front load your application in the beginning. So No just save your money and follow the guides and if you have a straight forward case it will be no problem.

BUT if there is a big complication with your case then get one because it may help. I mean a complication like formerly deported, criminal history, anything of that nature.

Edited by cyberfx1024

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: England
Timeline