Togbega II

KI visa 2013, joined Army, awaiting Naturalization certificate

10 posts in this topic

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Ghana
Timeline

I came here on K1 visa in Dec 26, 2013 to be with my wife. I received my 2-year Conditional GC in March, 2015 and decided to join the Army. I initially started with the Navy but my recruiter was too slow so I switched over to the Army. *You can't join the air force unless you have a 10-year GC.

I graduated 3 weeks ago and have now earned the title "American soldier". It was almost 10weeks of training. I had my Naturalization test and interview today which i passed. Am now awaiting my Naturalization certificate which I anticipate to receive soon.

I hope this provides an answer to somebody's question he/she is finding an answer for.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Sweden
Timeline

So you can become a citizen sooner just because you join the army? I had no idea..

You say you are awaiting your naturalization certificate...aren't you going to attend an oath ceremony and receive it there like everyone else?

Noa 1 August 15th 2011
Noa 2 March 2nd

NVC case numbers March 22nd
My sons AOS and IV bill paid March 23rd (status in progress)
My sons AOS and IV bill shows as paid March 26
My IV bill paid March 26
Both packages sent on March 26
My IV bill shows as paid on March 27th
CC on both cases March 30

Current record holder of fastest through the NVC :D

Medical exam in Stockholm April 13th
Interview on May 16th !!!

POE Anchorage July 12th!! 2012

July 2015 n-400 in the mail

September 2015, interview

October 23rd 2015, Oath ceremony!!!!!​​

So you can become a citizen sooner just because you join the army? I had no idea.. You say you are awaiting your naturalization certificate...aren't you going to attend an oath ceremony and receive it there like everyone else?

Absolutely you can because in general they don't want non-USC being able to shoot someone for the US government.