BS1982

Chances of B2 Visa after J1 Visa?

8 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Thailand
Timeline

I'm new to all of this Visa stuff, so first let me explain my situation.

In May of 2014 I met a Thai woman on eHarmony. We began chatting and chatted continuously until October 2014 when I flew to Thailand to meet her. We traveled in Thailand for 2 weeks and had a great time. I even met her parents and stayed at her house. We are now planning a 3+ week trip to China in December 2014 through January 2015.

My Thai GF is a university graduate with a bachelors degree. She does not currently have a job since she lives with and takes care of her family. She has little money in a bank account and owns no property and her father supports her. She has never been married, has no children and has traveled previously to Laos, South Korea and the US. She traveled to the US in 2009 on a J1 visa.

I would really like to have my Thai GF visit me in the US for 3-4 weeks to see if she likes Colorado and to get to know her better. She loved the US on her earlier visit, but that trip was to the east coast and Colorado is very different from the eastern US and Thailand! Ideally, she would visit me on a B2 Visa since we do not know each other well enough to be engaged or married yet.

So, here's my first question: What are her chances of getting a B2 visa? From what I have read, it sounds like the chances are almost zero since she has no property, job or compelling reason to return to Thailand. On the positive side, she has been to the US before and she returned to Thailand. She is a very honest and sincere person, and I think she would present herself well in an interview, buy I get the feeling as soon as she says she wants to the US to visit her BF, the B2 visa will be denied. Is it worth even trying to apply for a B2?