JStone

Is there a US work visa that doesn't require sponsorship?

16 posts in this topic

Long time lurker, first time poster.

Im sorry if this is going to be a long post, but I really want to give you guys my background.

Im originally from Australia and came to the US in the Fall of 2009 on an F-1 Visa to attend College.

I graduated this past May with my Accounting degree and applied for OPT. My OPT application was pretty late. I wanted to work in Denver for an Accounting firm, but all the companies that I spoke with wouldn't sponsor or wouldn't talk to me until my OPT was accepted. I was offered an accounting job in the town my school was in, and I accepted it. They were really good about waiting for my Visa to come in, so it seemed like a no brainer to me. My OPT was accepted July and I begun work the day after I received my card.

One of the accounting firms that I applied for when I was going through the OPT process has since got back to me and interviewed me a couple of weeks ago. This company is my dream job. Its in Denver and the company is amazing. I received a phone call today from their HR saying that it is their company policy to not sponsor employees. She said that if I didn't need sponsorship, she would be offering me a job on the spot.

So, at the moment I really have no idea what to do. I really want to be able to work there, but I don't really know where to begin. My understanding is that the e3 and H1b visas both require sponsorship, is there any that don't?

Im also currently studying to become a CPA, and I need to work at a CPA firm (which my current job isn't) before I can become a CPA.

I'd really appreciate some help/ideas at the moment about where I should go from here.

Thanks,

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

The whole point of OPT is to get a job with an employer who will sponsor you.