Sime26

K-1 Fiance(e) or K3 Spousal? - Civil Union

5 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

Hi Everyone.

I am new to this and am desperately trying not to make a mistake to avoid delays or being denied.

I am an American citizen wanting to sponsor a Canadian citizen and I just want to make sure I file the correct petition.

Here's our situation:

· We are a heterosexual couple (man/woman).

· We have been together since 2009, but we entered in a Civil Union in August 2013 in the Province of Quebec in Canada.

· In the province of Quebec, civil unions are equivalent to marriages in rights and obligations.

The main difference between civil unions and marriages is that civil unions can be ended without a divorce simply through a notary or when the couple decides to marry each other.

The certificate that we obtained from the government says “civil union and not marriage act.” We are also told that this type of union is only valid here in Quebec and not anywhere else. In Canada, our civil union allows her to sponsor me for Permanent Residence because it is equivalent to marriage.

Should I file for a fiancé visa (K-1) or a spousal visa (k-3) based on the above information? Will the U.S. consider our union as an official marriage or since we are both free to marry each other should we apply for a Fiance visa? (Should we ignore the civil union?)

This is so confusing. I don't know where to get help. Should I try to call the USCIS call center? Has anyone been in a similar situation?

Thanks for any advice!

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Ecuador
Timeline

Welcome to VJ! I've removed a duplicate post (please post just once on a topic) and have moved this one from the CR-1 Process forum to the Canada regional forum, where several members will have input on which visa type might be right for you, given the legalities in Quebec. Good luck!

Edited by TBoneTX

06-04-2007 = TSC stamps postal return-receipt for I-129f.