RSLF

Advice Needed Please!?

13 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

Hello guys,

I just joined VisaJourney today and would really like some advice from people who have been through all of this before!

I am a UK citizen and my boyfriend/fiancee is a US citizen. We met almost 2 years ago now whilst working in Asia. We've been together for around 18 months now and we're expecting a child in September. I'm back in the UK and he in the US. We fully intend to settle and live in the US we're just trying to figure out the best and fastest way to get there. He's also in the process of joining the US military, if that makes a difference.

I've done countless hours of research about the best options for us to proceed with. We're not going to see a lawyer since I have a Law degree and can easily wrap my head around all the paperwork and it's cheaper to do it by ourselves. I'm taking on most of the work and he'll just file the forms when I tell him to. From what I've read we have two options; the first being the fiancee visa, and the second being the spouse visa. It'll only be for me as we'll be claiming US citizenship for the baby through my fiance once he's born so he won't need a visa to enter the US as he'll have both UK and US paperwork and passports. The main question is should we just focus on the fiancee visa or try to marry and apply for the spouse visa? I mean which is a better option? I was thinking we could travel to Las Vegas, get married, I'll have the VWP which I already have and then after marrying there I'll return to the UK and my then husband will file the correct paperwork for an immediate relative or spouse from there. Or we could get married abroad in a country which doesn't need any long residency requirements for getting married, somewhere like Greece and then apply for the spouse visa that way. As I know getting married in the US without a valid fiancee visa can flag up problems. Although I'm not intending to stay in the US st