Jhalil&Mandy

Question about living conditions that are required.

7 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Netherlands
Timeline

Hi, first I'd like to thank you for this website I've been reading it for information and it's going to be an incredibly good resource for when my fiancee and I start the paper works.

Short back story:

My fiancee and I met online about 7 years ago, we have been together for 6 years since and I have visited many times and she has visited me (In fact I have just returned back to Holland after another sad goodbye less than 48 hours ago sad.png). We have everything from pictures together to vacations booked to videos of us at events together and plane ticket stubs. I propposed to her on Christmas day of 2009. And it's been a long and patient wait since. We have decided that we both want to have our schooling done to an extent. I got a degree in Holland in IT (I do plan on going to College in the U.S but that's a different story) and she's almost done with her BA. She has a job in the field she's studying for already and we have made a tremendous amount of progres in the past 6 years.

Now we feel that it is way overdue to start the process however there's something that's sort of in the way..

You see, my fiancee and I are in a position to start the paperworks but there's one thing that we are uncertain of.
Both my Fiancee and I are both relatively young (23 and 22) but she has a steady job and her income (She's the one living in the U.S) is above the 125% required for the poverty line. However, she is living in a house with her mother. Her mother is not responsible for her and does not receive any fiancial benefits from her residing there.
Our question that we could not find an answer to is, how will this affect our situation?