Messybrownhair

Dilemma.. bouncing thoughts around!

34 posts in this topic

Hey everyone,

I just found out that I am pregnant, which is great! However, there are a lot of complications. I am a full-time graduate student and don't wish to stop, and my husband is deploying in a couple of months. I will be pregnant and alone, which is not something we want. Anyone know where to find a full-time companion/nanny to stay while my husband is deployed and while I'm in school? Anyone have any other ideas? I can't go home though I want to coz my insurance is better here and I'd really like to keep staying in school.. :)

My Journey:

We met through a study-abroad program in Shanghai, China in August of 2009

We got engaged March of 2010

I received my K1 VISA in 6 months (June-December 2010)

We were married 04/02/2011
I received my conditional 2-year greencard (AOS) in 2.5 months with no interview (April-June 2011)

Our son was born 02/03/2013

I received my masters degree in Speech-Language Pathology 04/17/2013

I received my 10-year greencard (ROC) in 3 months with no interview (March-June 2013)

My husband returned from deployment 06/20/2013

My naturalization journey took 4 months (April-August 2014)

I became a US citizen on 08/01/2014

Received passport in 3 weeks (regular processing)

Thank you, VJ! smile.png

Having full-time help is brilliant and awesome if it's possible for you. I don't have a ton of advice but I would pursue that option vigorously in your position. I had a baby without my husband in the country and if it weren't for having my family around, I would have completely lost my mind. I not sure what area you live in, but there are a lot of websites and such that match up parents with nannies of all sorts, from the occasional babysitter to full-time live-in nannies. I can't recall any offhand but a google search might land you some good search sites. Many require their candidates to provide references and such.