WheretoBegin

Fiance Visa

22 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Vietnam
Timeline

Hi, thanks for the site. I was getting overwhelmed by all the information out on the web and this site has been helpful in calming things down.

I have 3 questions:

1. I have not yet met my fiance, we met through a friend (its her cousin and the friend lives in America). I do plan on going to visit her this summer (May 2012). On the application, will it be an issue if we haven't met but plan to this summer?

2. I am a full-time student, eligible for financial aid, will this be an issue for me or for her in the interview process?

3. the fee is $340, is that correct?, If I submit the application with a fee waiver form/financial hardship (not sure the name) will that negatively impact my chances of getting approved?

Some other information that may or may not be helpful, her mom is currently in the United States and she (my fiance) has applied for an immigration visa in her native country (Vietnam). She did this before we met.

Thanks for all your help in swimming the sea of red tape.

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Peru
Timeline

You should not file anything, or begin anything until you have met the person. It will set off flags at USCIS/ DHS!!! Meet first, have the patience to file after meeting. Seriously!

Best of Luck.

Edited by El Cachalote

You should not file anything, or begin anything until you have met the person. It will set off flags at USCIS/ DHS!!! Meet first, have the patience to file after meeting. Seriously!

Best of Luck.

It won't just set off red flags, it won't be allowed. They will take your money, but you will be denied if you have not met.

I can explain it to you. But I can't understand it for you.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

You have to meet before filing it.You cannot file a K-1 petition unless you have met in person, it is a requirement of the petition.