10 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: China
Timeline

I'm new to the AOS forum so please be patient with me if I sound a little "New".

Just got back from the SSA office after an unsuccessful attempt to do a name change. The pleasant guy at the counter told us that they cant change her name until it is changed with immigration. I chose not to argue with him and explained her status and that we were preparing to file her AOS and that currently she was on an I-94 (from a K-1) and that she didn't have a green card yet. He insisted that her name can only be changed through USCIS and that once she has a green card we can come back and change her SS card. So one of us is misinformed.

My question is can we file her AOS and then do a name change after? Or, do I need to press this issue and speak to a supervisor at the SSA office?

He also suggested that I ask my attorney? Ha Ha silly man.

Well I might be one of the misinformed..lol...but I got my first SS card a few weeks after I arrived, before the wedding.

I got my name changed on the SS card after the wedding, by a couple of weeks, by presenting my Marriage Certificate.

I went back and had the 'not for work with DHS permission' removed after AOS.

I can explain it to you. But I can't understand it for you.

Timeline

Well I might be one of the misinformed..lol...but I got my first SS card a few weeks after I arrived, before the wedding.

I got my name changed on the SS card after the wedding, by a couple of weeks, by presenting my Marriage Certificate.

We had the marriage certificate in hand bu he was certain he couldn't change her name until USCIS had changed it. I'm just wondering if it will be a problem if we don't change it before AOS.

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Australia
Timeline

We had the marriage certificate in hand bu he was certain he couldn't change her name until USCIS had changed it. I'm just wondering if it will be a problem if we don't change it before AOS.