rkk1

thinking of changing from K-1 to CR-1... advice?

10 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: India
Timeline

Hi all,

This is my first post on this forum, which has been invaluable to me in helping my submit and file my K-1 application which I submitted only last week.

My fiance and I were engaged last month (August) after I spent 2.5 months in India... mostly with him. I'm back home now, but I am planning on going back to visit him in November. Actually, we're considering doing a whole lot more than visiting, as he and I were planning to do an 'unofficial' marriage/religious ceremony during my short 1-week trip in late November. I only have one week to go back as I'm a full-time student.

After reading through this site, it seems like getting an unofficial marriage may not be the best idea, as it seems like many people's K-1 visa has gotten declined due to suspected marriage, even if the people never registered the marriage. We didn't think we'd be doing anything wrong, as we were planning to have an official US marriage after he gets here next spring/summer. He simply wanted to have the marriage in India so that his family could be present, as it was important to them to be there. But after digging through this site, we are afraid about having the unofficial Indian wedding, as we don't want to take a risk of getting the K-1 declined. (He and I are both really honest people, so it would be very hard for us to lie to the consulate if they asked us point blank if we were married).

We were thus considering all the options available to us. Although I was blessed to have such a long summer holiday to spend with him, I won't be having anymore such long breaks to visit him anymore for the next several years (as I'm a med student). I'd either only be able to go to India for a week this November for sure, or possibly for a week in the fall of next year, but I don't have anymore breaks to go there and marry him. So our options are quite limited.