Unknown1983

DCF from the US?

18 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

I am the USC, my husband is a UK citizen. We have been married since June 16th of this year, I have lived in the UK since January 1 of 2010. I previously held a UK fiance visa, and currently have a UK spouse visa. I am currently in the US visiting family. Can I file for DCF with the London embassy from within the US? I can show proof of UK residence, as per my passport visas/NHS letters/Housing. Would I have to attend any interviews, or just my husband? I am thinking about staying in the US to have my baby, and filing for my husbands DCF from over here if I can. I am eligible as I retained residence in the UK, over 6 months. But would me being in the US during the process effect anything?

I am not an expert on this, but I think that you have to file with the office that has jurisdiction over where you're currently residing. If you are moving back to the US right now to have your baby, then you really no longer reside in London, and I think you have to file at the US office, not London DCF. But that would be a question that is probably answered on the London Embassy website. Sorry I couldn't be of more help.

I would agree with mllover...to do DCF you,the petitioner, have to go to the consulate in London, also proving that you still live in the UK at point of filing and have lived there for at least 6 months prior to filing. That's how it works in Frankfurt...I don't think DCFs differ alot from country to country because DCF is pretty much giving an US citizen the "privilege" of filing in their spouses country while they live there...just ask the consulate, describe your situation....that you are pregnant, would like to deliver the baby at home in the us while at the same time trying to file for your non-USC...maybe they will give you an exception if your husband has a power of attorney...you never know...call and find out or write an email

• March 2007 we first met