Nik+Heather

Contract Jobs

Two jobs start at the same time.  

22 members have voted

1. 1. Which job would you accept

• Job you want, 3-6 months, part time, lower rate, low chance of conversion to permanent
    • Less desirable (but not bad) job, 2 weeks long, Full time, higher rate, Strong possibility of conversion to permanent
    • Neither, wait for permanent

10 posts in this topic

I think the decision has already been made, but I've never worked contract before, I wonder if other VJers might have a different experience.

Edited by Nik+Heather

K-1:

January 28, 2009: NOA1

June 4, 2009: Interview - APPROVED!!!

October 11, 2009: Wedding

AOS:

December 23, 2009: NOA1!

January 22, 2010: Bogus RFE corrected through congressional inquiry "EAD waiting on biometrics only" Read about it here.

March 15, 2010: AOS interview - RFE for I-693 vaccination supplement - CS signed part 6!

March 27, 2010: Green Card recieved

ROC:

March 1, 2012: Mailed ROC package

March 7, 2012: Tracking says "notice left"...after a phone call to post office.

More detailed time line in profile.

I'm fully self-employed now, no regrets. I feel it is usually best to take the job you really want even if it may not be permanent if the skills and contacts you can make and industry reputation you can build there justify it. One of my jobs is on a six-month contract that is reassessed every six months to see if everyone's happy. If I'm not, I know I can walk away having worked at something I loved, in a role that had high visibility and provided me with even more professional contacts than I had before.

If the job is one you love but it will not be useful in obtaining more permanent employment (if that's what you seek) in an area you want to work in, it is a more difficult decision.

larissa-lima-says-who-is-against-the-que

Given these choices, #3.

2005/07/10 I-129F filed for Pras

2005/11/07 I-129F approved, forwarded to NVC--to Chennai Consulate 2005/11/14