paulgedz

Re-entry options

7 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

Hello,

I moved to Colorado when I was 11 years old and achieved permanent residence status as my mother married an American who was in the US Navy and based in Scotland. Once his time was up, we moved to Colorado in 1997. In 2002, my mum and step dad divorced and I was forced to go back to Scotland with my mum as all of her family were there and she didn't want to stay in the states. Ever since then I have always wanted to go back. I have been pretty ignorant to the whole immigration process and have always assumed that once I got my degree that I would either be able to transfer with a company or find another suitable visa. I graduated in mechanical engineering in August and I'm currently doing an MBA part time now. I started looking in to the J-1 visa and getting a traineeship as I had met some Irish guys in New York last year that came across on that and then got their visa extended by an additional 3 years after the initial 18 months. However when I was looking at this, I stumbled across the SB-1 visa which I had never heard of before. Now I'm under the assumption that being taken back as a minor is a circumstance outwith my control however I'm concerned with the chance of success considering the time that has passed now. I would have applied for this years ago had I known about it. I still go back to the states on vacation 1-2 times a year to visit with friends and I also have a great relationship with my ex-stepfather (he basically raised me since I was 7 so I consider him a father). I have a whole host of people who could vouch for my desire to return ever since I left, some of them are even in US government positions. Does anyone have any recommendations on where I should go from here? I understand that if the SB-1 is rejected then even getting back to visit can be a nightmare and I don't want to jeopardize that also.