Coleman21

Filing tax for the first time after getting my green card

33 posts in this topic

Filed: Lift. Cond. (apr) Country: Japan
Timeline

Hello,

I have been a permanent resident since last August and I have been married to my husband (USC) for two years. (We didn't file for green card early after our marriage) This is my first time filing tax besides filing tax as a non resident alien with my school's internatioinal student office, so I need some help!

I want to file tax with my husband jointly, but I found out that to do so I have to attach a statement, because I am a "dual-status taxpayer" for the tax year 2013, since I was a non resident alien (I was an F-1 visa student) and a resident alien last year. This is the publictation I looked at:

http://www.irs.gov/publications/p519/ch01.html#en_US_2013_publink1000222177

"Choosing resident alien status" is the section that applies to me.

And in order to attach a statement, I have to file tax by mail, or am I being wrong? I read somewhere that I have to by mail.

Here is my question. It seems to me that the reason why IRS cares about my alien status is because some people earn income outside of the USA when they are non resident aliens. I was out of the USA for a few weeks in January 2013, but the entire rest of 2013 I was in the USA, and I worked only in the USA. When I was a non-resident alien, I worked on my college campus, and I still do as a permanent resident. So is it really necessary for me to attach a statement that my husband and I choose to treat me as a resident alien for the entire 2013? I mean, can we not just file tax as "married filing jointly" electronically without a statement? My friend recommended to me TaxSlayer.com and he says it is very easy to use it, so I was hoping to file our tax on that website, instead of by mail.