gpcovenant

Living overseas while applying for CR-1 spouse visa

15 posts in this topic

My girlfriend (a citizen of HKSAR) and I (US Citizen) are currently in Hong Kong. We have decided to marry and want to settle down in the USA and are planning to marry in the next month and start the CR-1 process. During the process I prefer to stay with her in HK until she gets approved then we move over to the USA together.

We are currently both living in Hong Kong, her home country. I have been living in HK on tourist visas for approximately four years. I am still a legal resident of Florida as I have been using my parents address as my USA address and I also work for our family business (and internet based business) that is located and limited to the USA, I am paid in US dollars to my US bank account. Basically my work allows me to live where I wish as long as I have a good internet connection.

My confusion is around where I need to be during the application of the CR-1. I keep reading stories of US Citizens that is sponsoring the CR-1 visa is in the USA. They imply that it is required that the US citizen needs to be in the USA during the process. Yet I can not see a single reason why nor can I find any evidence on the government information pages or other sites that explicitly states I must be in the USA for the process. I can send the application to the Chicago Dropbox. She does the interview here at the consulate.

Am missing something?

Thank you for any assistance.

05/25/2013 - Married

06/05/2013 - Mailed I-130

06/7/2013 - Delivery Confirmed

06/10/2013 - NOA1 Notice Date

12/12/13 - File transfereed to local office for processing

2/27/14 - NOA2 Approved and sent to NVC

3/11/14 - File received by NVC

4/11/140 - Received Case number and IIT

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Italy
Timeline