kkrxo

Background checks for petitioners?

5 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Philippines
Timeline

Does USCIS perform background checks on the petitioners? I don't remember ever reading anything about the petitioner's criminal history on any of the forms... the only thing I recall was on the I-485 when it asked about mine and to provide evidence. (and my background is clean so I didn't provide anything for that)

My husband has a prior drug conviction from when he was 18 (misdemeanor), and for having a concealed weapon (which was also a misdemeanor)... it was originally a felony, but the judge was pretty lenient with him and said if he didn't get in anymore trouble within the next 12 months, then they would amend the felony charge to a misdemeanor... and they did.

Does anyone know if we were supposed to provide like a court document and send it with our applications?...because we didn't! And back to the first question, do they perform background checks on the petitioners? And if so, will his prior convictions be a huge issue? I hope not because he was seriously young and dumb back then, and has fully turned his life around since then... I know they won't have any compassion for anything we have to say now so I'm really worried. I don't know why I never thought about this before we sent the applications! :blink:

Edited by kkrxo

Day 1: 09/15/10 - Sent I-130, I-485, I-765, & I-102 via USPS

Day 2: 09/16/10 - Chicago Lockbox recieved package

Day 7: 09/22/10 - NOA1 for I-130, I-485, I-765

Day 12: 09/27/10 - I-130, I-485, I-765 TOUCHED

Day 14: 09/29/10 - NOA1 for I-102

Day 19: 10/04/10 - Received Biometrics appointment for 11/01/2010 in Naperville, IL

Day 35: 10/20/10 - I-102 application APPROVED

Day 38: 10/23/10 - Received I-102 approval letter and replacement I-94

Day 47: 11/01/10 - Biometrics done

Day 47: 11/01/10 - I-485 & I-765 TOUCHED

Day 50: 11/04/10 - Interview Notice for 12/16/10

Day 61: 11/15/10 - EAD Card Production Ordered (E-mail)