elmcitymaven

Bank of America problem

26 posts in this topic

My husband and I both have accounts with Bank of America -- I've got checking, a money market account, a credit card and two business accounts, the hubster has checking and a money market. So far, we've been generally happy with them. No problem opening up his account after we got his SSN. But we now have a new issue that we can't quite resolve with them (or at least yet resolve).

When he opened the account, they coded him as a non-resident alien even though he had his I-551 stamp in his passport (green card had not yet arrived). We only discovered this when he got a letter from BoA saying that he needed to confirm his non-resident status for the 17 cents in interest he earned last year, citing tax purposes. So when he called them to say "#######??? I am a permanent resident!" they directed him to a branch to sort out the matter. When he went to the branch, they told him they couldn't sort it out -- he had to do it over the phone. When he called back, he was told this amusing little nugget: apparently BoA will treat PRs as non-resident aliens for tax purposes UNLESS they have already been resident in America for three months at the time they open their account.

Again, #######??? If, as my husband says, his PR status is good enough for Uncle Sam, why isn't it good enough for BoA? Has anyone else heard this load of complete and utter b*ll*cks? We are still trying to sort this out, and we're getting desperate as it is nearing tax day. I'm making an appointment for us to meet with the bank manager to sort this out, and for me to threaten to yank my not insubstantial funds out of BoA and move to Wachovia next door if he is not correctly coded as a PR. But I was curious if other VJers had heard this malarkey. Comments, people! :ranting:

larissa-lima-says-who-is-against-the-que

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Peru
Timeline