Nicole&Wilson

Brazilian illegal in US wants to wed US citizen

12 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Brazil
Timeline

Hi. First, thank you for everyone who uses this site. It's great! And forgive me if I am posting this in the wrong place - this is my first time joining any kind of forum. And forgive me if anyone has asked a similar question, but I could not find anything like my situation (although I'm sure I just didn't look long enough :-)).

I have been dating my boyfriend for roughly 1 year. I am a US citizen. He is from Brazil & came to the US illegally (via Mexico) and has been here for 3 years. We want to get married and are not sure if we should try for the fiance visa or spouse visa I am worried that the government/consulate will find out that he has been in the US illegally and will bar him for 10 years. He aquired a tax id # & driver's license in the US (license has since expired). When getting his license somehow a authorization form to work in the US was filed in his name.

I assume either visa we apply for we will have to do the waiver, but does anyone have any suggestions on what is the best thing to do? I have spoken to so many lawyers & they each give me a different answer. Should we do the fiance visa? Spouse visa? If we marry, is it better to marry in the US, Brazil, another country?

Also, I read on one of the postings that someone told the truth on their forms - that they stayed in the US illegally after their visa expired - and they were approved the visa. Is it better to "lie" of tell the truth?

Sorry for the long post. I'm just so overwhelmed! Thanks in advance to all!

Nicole & Wilson

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Ukraine
Timeline

I am just amazed how someone here is illegal and ends up obtaining a SSN and Driver's License I wondered who the rightful person of the SSN feels being victimized this way? :angry:

Edited by JoeMama

Joseph

us.jpgKarolina

AOS application received Chicago - 11/12/2007