CastilloBarro

What are my chances of getting a visa?

12 posts in this topic

Hi everyone,

I recently received an interesting offer from a very good friend of mine who is a US citizen, and I'd like to know whether people think there is any chance of making this happen.

I am a UK citizen and holder of an ESTA tourist visa. I have visited the US many times, always legally. My wife is a Mexican citizen and holds a B1/B2 tourist visa. She also visits the US regularly and has had no legal issues. We are both fully employed teachers in Mexico. I have a bachelor's degree and am currently studying an online masters at a US university. She has a bachelor's degree and a postgraduate certificate from a British university.

My friend, a US citizen, would like me to come and live in his building in order to run errands and help him with certain tasks as he is mobility impaired. He has no close family who can help him and only trusts me for the job. We have known each other for 10 years, which can be proven. I do not have any "carer / home help" type qualifications.

Is there any possibility of me getting approved for a work visa, and if so, which type of visa would suit? I would need to be able to bring my wife with me.

I've already done some research, but I'm not clear on which visa I could apply for, or even if I would qualify for anything. Advice would be much appreciated.

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

With Employment visa's it is the Employer who does the applying, well their Lawyer anyway.

Makes me wonder of your friend can afford to employ you, and why you as you said you have no qualifications.

“If you know the enemy and know yourself, you need not fear the result of a hundred battles. If you know yourself but not the enemy, for every victory gained you will also suffer a defeat. If you know neither the enemy nor yourself, you will succumb in every battle.”

1 minute ago, Boiler said: