Nessie Joy

US Passport Validity

9 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

Good day! I am new to this so I apologize if this question is repetitive but I tried to research it and couldn’t find an clear answer. I am collecting the requirements to file for a K-1 visa for my fiancé from England and one of the requirements for me is to provide a valid passport to show my US citizenship. Does it have to be valid within certain amount of time? My passport expires next year of April (2022). Am I good to go with this valid timeframe? Also, does anyone here have any good checklist/templates sample for their K-1 visa requirements that they can share? 

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Philippines
Timeline
27 minutes ago, Nessie Joy said:

Good day! I am new to this so I apologize if this question is repetitive but I tried to research it and couldn’t find an clear answer. I am collecting the requirements to file for a K-1 visa for my fiancé from England and one of the requirements for me is to provide a valid passport to show my US citizenship. Does it have to be valid within certain amount of time? My passport expires next year of April (2022). Am I good to go with this valid timeframe? Also, does anyone here have any good checklist/templates sample for their K-1 visa requirements that they can share? 

Your passport is fine. I would worry if it was going to expire before they received it but over a year is no problem. 

Timeline
4 minutes ago, Skyman said:

Your passport is fine. I would worry if it was going to expire before they received it but over a year is no problem. 

Thank you Skyman! I appreciate the response :) 

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Philippines
Timeline
31 minutes ago, Nessie Joy said:

Your passport has an initial validity of 10 years.  And as long as your passport has not expired, its good to use.

YMMV

Filed: Other Country: China
Timeline