Caro&Craig

I-864 help - Proof of Income

21 posts in this topic

Hi Everyone,

I am the petitioner/ sponsor for my South African husband and we live in South Africa together. I am currently a PhD student here in SA (and work part time for myself) and don't have US 'employment income' to show. We live off my husband's salary, as well as my own US savings/ investments. My husband actually already works for an American tech company as a remote contractor, but I don't believe his income counts for anything.

I've been looking around on the USCIS and VJ websites to determine if the SUM of my savings/ investments (which exceed the poverty limit guidelines) will qualify towards being sufficient evidence of finances to sponsor my husband for his CR-1 spousal visa, or if I'll need to ask my parents in the US to be a joint sponsor. I do file and have yearly tax returns for income generated from these savings, but its rarely for more than $15k because of the lower cost of living here in SA, which is then less than the poverty guidelines for sponsorship. Is proof of the sum of my assets enough or just the income gains on tax returns? 

I just want to be safe and file things correctly so as not to waste processing time by being requested later on to submit additional documents for a joint sponsor. Is it worth just submitting with joint sponsors anyway just to absolutely make sure I cover my bases?

AND, if my savings/ assets DO count and make an additional joint sponsor unnecessary, what types of additional forms or special documentation would be needed?

This is from the State Dept website:

Evidence of income