Colbert Report

Help! PR in the USA and fiance back in Canada

12 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hello everyone!

I immigrated to the USA in 2016.  I'm a Canadian citizen and I am a legal Permanent Resident in the United States.

My girlfriend is back in Canada and we would like to get married and settle here in the USA.  Can anyone tell me what our options are?  Again, I am not a US citizen, just a PR.  I will be eligible to apply for American citizenship in March of 2021.

Someone told me that if she came down to visit, and we decided to get married while she was down here, it would be faster than waiting for me to become a US citizen and then sponsoring her in.   Another option suggested would be for us to get married in either the USA OR Canada and then applying for a visa at that point, which I believe may take longer.

If anyone could give me some solid information on this situation, it would be very much appreciated. 

The long way is the legal way. As you are a permanent resident, she will not get forgiven for things that spouses of citizens would. Be very careful about thinking you can do things/cut corners because others have done so, as the law treats LPRs differently.  Get married, and apply for a F2A visa for her (spouse of LPR), and yes you’ll have to wait, but you and she can visit each other in the meantime. In the event you become a citizen before she gets her visa (i would usually say unlikely if you marry soon, also depending on the wait for n400 processing at your FO, but who knows with the visa backlog building up), you can upgrade her petition at that point and it'll (probably) move faster.

Edited by SusieQQQ

She cannot enter the US with intent to stay. That would be fraud.

Timelines:

ROC:

Spoiler

7/27/20: Sent forms to Dallas lockbox, 7/30/20: Received by USCIS, 8/10 NOA1 electronic notification received, 8/1/ NOA1 hard copy received

AOS:

Spoiler

AOS (I-485 + I-131 + I-765):